Eastern Branch

Eastern Branch includes Ottawa, Cornwall, and the Eastern Ontario region.

Branch Executive and Directors:   
Evelyn Weger, President
Fatina Elkurdi, Vice President/Operations 
Barbara Merriam, Past President
Elizabeth Fennelly, Treasurer
Stephanie Chretien-Gaudreau, Secretary
Beverlee McIntosh, Membership and SWAG 
Ian Ford, Member-at-Large
Leandra Carino, Member-at-Large
Jordan MacLaren, Member-at-Large
Jessica Bouvier, Student Representative - University of Ottawa
Krystle Latouche, Student Representative - Carleton University

Upcoming Activities of Interest to Branch Members
The Eastern Branch Board of Directors would like to share more information about an exciting new project that we will be initiating this year.
The Outreach and Networking Committee has been struck with the goal of creating spaces for social workers to connect through social events to build a greater sense of community, provide opportunities for new friendships, encourage the exchange of ideas, and more generally, to have a good time.
Over the course of the next year, the Outreach and Networking Committee plans to host six events that vary in timing, focus and location in consideration of the varying needs and responsibilities of our diverse membership. Our hope is that members may find one or more events that will fit with their busy lives. 
Both members and non-members of the OASW are welcome to attend! This will provide low pressure opportunities to see the benefits that membership brings.
We hope that this provides more clarity on the purpose and extent of plans for the coming year! The committee is open to hosting additional events with support from members who might want to get involved in planning. 
The first of these events was scheduled for September 22, 2017 however the event has been postponed to a yet to be determined date.  To our Jewish colleagues, please accept our deepest apologies for inadvertently scheduling an event on Rosh Hashanah.  The Board of Directors and the Networking and Outreach Committee members meant no disrespect when choosing September 22, 2017 as our first event date.  We promise to be more vigilant in choosing future date for Board sponsored events.  

Please address any inquiries to Eastern Branch oasw.east@gmail.com 

Fall Meet and Greet

Social Media: Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram  

2018 Social Work Week - Dr Alan Wolfelt - Rituals of Grief (Registration and conference information to follow)

The organization's main functions are to:  
- Represent the interests and concerns of the profession; 
- Promote and advance the interests of social workers; 
- Enhance the contribution of social work to social justice; 
- Provide information and support to social workers; 
- Set professional practice guidelines in various fields of service; 
- Offer leadership in professional and social advocacy; 
- Assist in the provision of professional development; 
- Arrange for reduced-cost benefits and services for members; 
- Act as a catalyst for professional networking. 

Commitment to Best Practice Through Professional Networking & Education
Social Workers in Aging & Gerontology (SWAG) in Ottawa is a professional networking and educational model, easily transferable to any area of social work practice where sharing information will enhance and empower your professional interventions. This innovative network, in its 26th year, was started by Ottawa social workers with the support of OASW Eastern Branch. Please click flyer for more details.
Bulletin Staff
Deborah Davidson, Bulletin Editor
Graeme Roderick, Chair, Publication Committee

Eastern Branch E-Bulletins:
Summer 2017
(Adobe PDF File)
Spring 2017
(Adobe PDF File)
Fall 2016
(Adobe PDF File)
Summer 2016
(Adobe PDF File)
Spring 2016
(Adobe PDF File)
Fall 2015
(Adobe PDF File)
Spring 2015
(Adobe PDF File)
Summer 2015
(Adobe PDF File)

The Pioneers of Ontario Association of Social Workers Eastern Branch 

Evelyn Weger Introduction - Part 1
Allan Moscovitch - Part 2
Barbara Merriam - Part 3
Beverlee McIntosh - Part 4
Graeme Roderick - Part 5
Joan Gullen - Part 6
Joyce Turnbull - Part 7
Katherine Ferguson - Part 8
Marg Nelson - Part 9
Mary Sinclair - Part 10  
Roland Lecomte - Part 11
Ruth Brown - Part 12
Sheila Baslow - Part 13

Contact Information:
Eastern Branch Office: oasw.east@gmail.com

Mailing Address:   
212-404 MacArthur Avenue 
Ottawa, Ontario, K1K 1G8

Branch Telephone: (613) 238-8406
Branch Fax Number: (613) 238-5913

Branch President: Evelyn Weger
Provincial/Regional Director: Bonnie Schroeder

News & Announcement:
Eastern Branch 81st Spring Gala and AGM