Southwestern Branch

Southwestern Branch includes Windsor, Chatham and the surrounding areas. 

Upcoming Events

Southwestern Branch Presents...

2 Day Workshop on Emotion Focused Therapy

Dates: August 9 - 10, 2019
Time: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM (each day)
Location: School of Social Work, Downtown Windsor, 167 Ferry Street, Windsor, Ontario
Speaker: Dr. Antonio Pascual-Leone, Ph.D
RSVP here. (Only 20 Seats Available)

  • A light breakfast and afternoon snack (fruit, coffee, cookies) are provided with the price of the event. Please note, lunch is not included either day.
  • Early Bird (Until July 10th): Member 250, Nonmember 300
  • Regular (after July 10th): Member 275, Nonmember 325

If tickets are sold out and you are still interested in this opportunity please Email Matthew at 


  • Present theory on treating complex trauma, PTSD, and survivors of child abuse.
  • Identify steps in the process of resolving past relational issues, as well as key ideas about case formulation, and emotion focused theory for understanding trauma.
  • Discuss selected research, particularly as related to the change process and implications for practice.
  • Give video examples of expert therapists, and case vignettes, related to the treatment of complex trauma. Specifically, these will demonstrate the use of methods inspired by gestalt for dialoguing with imagined significant others in an empty chair.

This workshop will provide hands-on practice, using their own material in small groups and get personalized supervision in the use of these emotion focused interventions.

Presenter Bio:

Dr. Antonio Pascual-Leone is a clinician psychologist and associate professor at the University of Windsor, where he trains psychotherapists and is director of the Emotion Change Lab. He is also an honorary research professor at the University of Lausanne (Switzerland) and has been an invited professor at other universities in Canada and abroad. One of Dr. Pascual-Leone’s goals is to study emotional change to help understand how psychotherapy works. He has published 60 articles or chapters, has co-authored a book on treating Complex Trauma (2010), and is currently writing another book on Changing Emotion (2020). Dr. Pascual-Leone has received several career awards from international societies (2009, 2014), and distinguished publication awards from associations in US and Germany (2010; 2016). Another of Dr. Pascual-Leone’s goals is to share the research in a way that will help guide teaching and training the counsellors, psychotherapists, social workers, and doctors who are on the front line of mental health care. In addition to 14 years of university teaching, he has given over 35 clinical workshops around the world and received several more awards for his teaching and mentorship (2016; 2018), recognizing his leadership in education and his innovations teaching psychotherapy skills.

Video about his work:
How to Get Over The End of a Relationship | Antonio Pascual-Leone | TEDxUniversityofWindsor -  almost 400k views! 

Course Content:

Psychotherapy clients with histories of childhood abuse and complex relational trauma are ubiquitous and have notoriously high drop-out rates. These clients have been unable to heal past emotional injuries and often have difficulty handling exposure-based therapies, which usually are not designed for attachment-related problems. Successful therapy requires helping clients to access and explore painful feelings in order to modify maladaptive emotions. Emotion-Focused Therapy for Complex Trauma (EFTT) is the only empirically-verified treatment for both men and women suffering from complex trauma, and the only research-based treatment for trauma outside of CBT.

Past Branch Activities

Annual General Meeting: March 9, 2017
On Thursday, March 9, 2017 the OASW Southwestern Branch's held it's Annual General Meeting and Networking Event.  
Shelley Gilbert, Director of Social Work Services at Legal Assistance of Windsor, delivered a keynote presentation on the groundbreaking work she has been doing in the area of human trafficking through WEFiGHT.

Annual General Meeting: March 10, 2016
The OASW Southwestern Branch Board of Directors invited members to its Annual General Meeting (AGM) during Social Work Week.It was an evening of dinner, awards, and celebration with local community social workers and students. 

Interactive Social Work Networking Event & Dinner
On November 19, 2015, Keynote speaker, Dr. Keith Adamson, spoke on the Future of Social Work in Ontario. It was an interactive evening of networking with local community social workers and students. 

Faculty Research Presentation
Phi Alpha Honour Society for Social Work Students delivered their Faculty Research Presentation on October 22, 2015 in Windsor, Ontario. This was a wonderful opportunity to network with other social work professionals. Some presenters included: Dr. Connie Kvarfordt, Dr. Debra Hernandez Jozefowicz and Dr. Kimberly Calderwood. 

OASW Freida McAvoy Memorial Scholarship
Southwestern Branch supports and encourages social work education through its OASW Freida McAvoy Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to a full-time undergraduate Social Work Student who is in year 3 or 4 at the University of Windsor, has a minimum cumulative average of 83%, and has financial need. 

Social Justice Workshop
On October 2, 2015, students, faculty and community members joined together at the "Charity is Good, Justice is Better" Workshop and explored how the community can strengthen local efforts to fight poverty. 

Contact Information to Board Members:

Matthew Dunlop - President 
Michelle Ao - Vice-President
Jane Gagnon - Treasurer
Morena Gjecovik - Secretary
Sandra Pelka - Member
Rachel Sablone - Member
Megan Quenneville - Member

General Contact:

Social Media:

Twitter Handle

Branch Publications:

2018 Annual Report
(Adobe PDF File)