OASW Nominee for Government of Ontario Volunteer Service Awards

Purpose: The purpose of the Government of Ontario Volunteer Service Award is to honour the many Ontarians who generously contribute their time as volunteers to a large number of organizations and associations. The award recognizes volunteers who have provided service over many years.

Description: The award consists of a certificate and pin presented in ceremonies across Ontario.

Selection Criteria: OASW may submit up to seven (6) nominations to the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration annually.

All candidates selected by OASW must be members. Moreover, candidates must have been active in OASW carrying specific roles and responsibilities (i.e., involvement extends beyond simply holding membership).

The selection process will be guided by the following factors:
1. Have volunteered with OASW for a minimum of 5 consecutive years. If more than 6 nominations are received, the Board or Selection Committee will use their discretion to identify the most appropriate candidates. The Government of Ontario stipulates as a criteria serving 5 consecutive years as a volunteer in a single organization. The following levels of awards are prescribed (5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30+, 40+).
2. Candidates will reflect a variety of practice sectors/areas of interest (e.g., social justice, human rights, children and families, health care) and types of practice (e.g., clinical, research, policy).
3. Candidates will be considered from regions across the province.
4. Candidates will be considered from a range of volunteer roles and activities, e.g., serving on Branch and/or Provincial Boards, committees and task groups, involvement in projects and initiatives. 

Selection Process:
-OASW Branches, Committees and Provincial Board Members can nominate candidates for this award.
-The nomination must be made in writing to the Nominating Committee highlighting the nominee's achievements and qualities, which make her/him deserving of this award.
-The OASW Nominating Committee will make the final selections. 

Award Presentation:
The recipients will receive an invitation from the Ontario Honours and Awards Secretariat to an award ceremony in their local community.

Nominations Deadline:Early January, annually


Year award established:

Past recipients:

Francine Boudreau (Sudbury Branch);
Ruth Cummins (Northwestern Branch);
Gary Davies (Western Branch);
Debbie Davis (Hamilton Branch);
Candice Hanna (Southwestern Branch); and
Stephen McDonald (Huronia Highlands Branch)

Nicole Best (Central Ontario Branch);
Sharon Evans (Midwestern Branch);
Sally Palmer (Hamilton Branch);
Marco Posadas (Central Ontario Branch);
Kate Power (Hamilton Branch); and
Bonnie Schroeder (Eastern Branch)

Mel Basbaum (Hamilton Branch, 20 year category);
Ruth Beekhuis (Niagara Branch, 10 year category);
Robin Frank (Northwestern Branch, 20 year category);
Karen Mann (Nipissing Branch, 25 year category);
Beverlee McIntosh (Eastern Branch, 25 year category); and
Eke VanderZee (Durham-Kawartha Branch, 10 year category)

Nasim Banu-Ahmed (Niagara Branch);
Cathy Farrell (Northwestern Branch);
Fay Lim-Lambie (Central Ontario Branch);
Anne Sawarna (Western Branch);
Kathy Stiell (Eastern Branch); and
Beatrice (Trixie) Traub-Werner (Central Ontario Branch)

Brian Adams, Huronia Highlands Branch (25 year category);
Teresa Legowski, Northwestern Branch (10 year category);
Louise Gauthier, Nipissing Branch (25 year category);
Nancy Riedel Bowers, Midwestern Branch (10 year category);
Ola Furda, Hamilton Branch (20 year category); and
Maria DeRubeis, Southwestern Branch (5 year category)

Julie Woit (Northwestern Branch, 10 year category);
Linda Fischer (Western Branch, 5 year category);
Nalini Gandhi (Mid-Western Branch, 10 year category);
Marla Feldman (Central Ontario Branch, 10 year category);
Jennifer Krawczyk (Hamilton Branch, 10 year category); and
Ashley Quinn (Central Ontario Branch, 5 year category)

Linda Goldie (Durham/Kawartha Branch, 20 year category);
Sally Palmer (Hamilton Branch, 40 year category);
Renée Mallet (Francophone Director, 5 year category);
Helen Jevnikar (Western Branch, 10 year category);
Susan Preston (Central Ontario Branch, 10 year category); and
Merilyn Thompson (Midwestern Branch, 10 year category)

Marie Turcotte (Sudbury Branch, 25 year category);
Margaret Nelson (Eastern Branch, 25 year category);
Anne Toth (Western Branch, 20 year category);
Sandra Campbell (Mid-Western Branch, 20 year category);
Dan Andreae (Central Ontario Branch, 20 year category); and 
Barbara Robinson (Niagara Branch, 15 year category)