OASW and its School Social Work Advisory Group hosted the 36th annual School Social Work Symposium, Reimagining Wellness as a School Social Worker, on Tuesday, November 14, 2023, online. 

Fireside Chat with Minaa B. 

Through an interview-style discussion, Minaa B. will share her expertise on community care and collective healing for school social workers. Minaa will share tools and practices for how school social workers can effectively practice community care, be an ally and be proactive in their anti-racism journey to support colleagues and students. Minaa B. is a social worker, writer, author of Owning our Struggles, and is the founder of Minaa B consulting. Her work is rooted in teaching people how to cultivate self-care and self-advocacy through boundaries and community care.

Strategies for Collective Care in School Social Work

Join experienced social worker, trauma therapist, consultant and educator Karine Silverwoman for a workshop exploring themes of vicarious trauma, self care and trauma-informed practice from a social justice lens. We will reflect on strategies to sustain ourselves in the work, deepen our understand of trauma informed practice and will explore meaningful ways to care for ourselves and others from a micro, mezzo and macro lens.


OASW and its School Social Work Advisory Group have compiled a selection of related resources to help participants continue their learning.

10:00 a.m.
Opening Ceremony and Remarks

10:15 a.m.
Fireside Chat
Minaa B., Social Worker, Writer, Author of Owning our Struggles, and Founder of Minaa B. Consulting

11:15 a.m.


11:30 a.m.
Peace of Mind: How OASW and PROLINK Can Support Social Workers
Carol Soares, Gabriella D’Ambrosio, Derrick Leue and Jill Hegney

11:55 a.m.
Artistic Presentation 
Pujita Verma

12:00 p.m.


1:00 p.m.
Workshop | Strategies for Collective Care in School Social Work
Karine Silverwoman, Social Worker, Therapist, Consultant, Educator and Personal Trainer

2:15 p.m.
Award Presentation and Remarks: 2023 School Social Work Achievement Award

2:45 p.m.
Closing Ceremony and Remarks 

Note: Program is subject to change. Additional program details will be added as they are confirmed.


Learn more about our expert speakers and the experiences they bring to the table. 


Thank you to all members of our School Social Work Advisory Committee for sharing your expertise and insights to help make this critical event a success:

  • Chair: Tracey Grose, School Mental Health Ontario
  • OASW Board Liaisons: Dr. Shelley Craig & Carol Soares
  • Andréanne Fleck Saito, School Mental Health Ontario
  • Dominique Doyle, Conseil scolaire catholique mon avenir
  • Geer Harvey, Peel District School Board
  • Jacqueline Davis, Halton Catholic District School Board
  • Jenny Athanasiou-Malisa, Hamilton Wentworth District School Board
  • Kimberley Sherman, Peel District School Board
  • Maria Capela, Toronto District School Board
  • Peter Reid, York Region District School Board
  • Sara Mclean, District School Board of Niagara
  • Shenelle Bernier, Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board
  • Stefanie Burosch, Trillium Lakelands District School Board
  • Susanna Cristoforo, Toronto Catholic District School Board
  • Toni Lauzon, Greater Essex County District School Board
  • Yasmin Smith, Halton District School Board