OASW Lifetime Achievement Award

Purpose: The OASW Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a social worker whose values, accomplishments and career reflect a passion, commitment and distinguished contribution to the social work profession.

Description: The Lifetime Achievement Award is intended to recognize social workers who have demonstrated outstanding achievements and made contributions of a lasting impact to social work in Ontario. 

Selection Criteria:
The award recipient must be a social worker with an accredited social work degree and an OASW and OCSWSSW member in good standing. The applicant will have:
    • Demonstrated  outstanding achievements
    • Received recognition beyond the social work profession (e.g., teaching, research, community collaboration) 
    • Made contributions of lasting impact
    • Exhibited outstanding creativity.

Selection Process:
OASW Branches and individual members may nominate candidates by submitting the following to the Nominating Committee: 
    • Completed official nomination form;
    • A summary of demonstrated contributions that describe:
           o What the nominee accomplished;
           o Who the beneficiaries were;
           o What long-term effect was achieved;
           o What was outstanding about the nominee’s action(s);
           o Any barriers the nominee overcame to achieve results;
           o Curriculum vitae; and
    • Three (3) endorsements from OASW members

To ensure the nominee’s eligibility, nominations must adhere to the guidelines, and use clear, concise, and descriptive examples of activities and accomplishments. 

The OASW Nominating Committee will select and make recommendations to the Board of Directors, which approves the award recipient.

Award Presentation:
As of 2016, the award will be presented every two years at OASW’s Annual General Meeting.  The award will consist of a plaque or framed certificate and will be accompanied by a media release.

Nomination Deadline: January 2018 



2016 Winners:

Karen Harasymiw, Algoma University
Krystle Latouche, Carleton University 
Joshua Longo, King's University College, University of Western Ontario
Jennifer Horvath, Lakehead University
Catherine Davey, Laurentian University, Horonia Highlands (Orillia)
Carine Essanga, Laurentian University, Sudbury
Kartika Mehan, McMaster University  
Rebekah Ederer, Nipissing University
Trudi Townsend, Renison College, University of Waterloo  
Bridget Ofosu, Ryerson University 
Gabrielle Gauthier, Université d`Ottawa
Chantal Nielsen, University of Toronto
Joshua Fink, Trent University
Mary Jenna Matisz, Wilfrid Laurier University  
Jeff Bezaire, University of Windsor
Emily Carreiro, York University